“It ain’t so much the things we don’t know that get us into trouble, it’s the things we do know that just ain’t so.”

The above statement has been variously attributed to Mark Twain, Artemus Ward, and Satchel Paige. This means that at least two of these attributions are examples of somebody ‘knowing something that just ain’t so’.

Welcome to DeToxicon – the blog that puts a freshly-invented field of study – the completely inaccurately-named Science of Competence – to work protecting humanity. How? By naming, shaming, and generally complaining about people whose complete ignorance regarding some matter of importance leads them to embrace or create a fantasy-understanding, which they then try to inflict upon the rest of us.

These are the people who see witches and light torches.

These are the people who see WMDs and launch invasions.

These people are toxicons. Their toxic confidence in those things they know that just ain’t so is unwavering.  They are our friends, our neighbors, and our leaders; they are not crazy, and they are not stupid. They’re toxicons, and they will quite happily destroy us all.

Can they be stopped? I don’t know. If I said I knew, I’d be lying; if I thought I knew, I’d be one of Them. I do know that self-proclaimed experts with shaky credentials and unshakable certainty should come with a warning label.

Welcome to the blog.

-A

